7 Yoga Poses to Balance Your Chakras

Chakra Map
Chakras are the main energy centers in our bodies. Starting at the base of the spine to the top of the head, these chakras in alignment represent our entire being in balance.
Our chakras can be blocked because of certain emotional events. Stress, anxiety, conflict, loss, or accident can all lead to a disruption in the flow of energy. When the chakras are out of balance, confusion, unhappiness, and disconnection ensue. During these times, we may find it difficult to express ourselves or to understand and be compassionate to other people.
To maintain a healthy flow of energy throughout the body, it is best to get in tune with our chakras and identify which areas need attention. These yoga poses are designed to activate specific chakras to let energy move freely throughout the body.

Bālāsana - Child’s Pose

The Child’s Pose is good for grounding the Root Chakra (Muladhara), which is located at the base of the spine. It connects us to the energy of the earth and makes us feel safe and connected.

Eka Pada - Pigeon Pose

Pigeon Pose


Hip openers are good for the Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana), which is located in the lower abdomen below the navel area. This chakra is the center of our emotions and self-expression. The Pigeon Pose stretches the groin area to allow for more space as well as ease tension, leading to better emotional stability.

Navasana - Boat Pose

 Boat Pose

The Solar Plexus (Manipura) is the core of the human identity and ego. When this chakra is off balance, it can lead to lack of confidence and self-esteem. The Boat Pose is a great way to activate the core, targeting the chakra located in the inner belly.

Ustrasana - Camel Pose

Camel Pose


A balanced Heart Chakra (Anahata) invites love and compassion. Closing off our hearts to protect it from vulnerability blocks off the flow of energy into our chakra. The Camel Pose is a great way to stretch and open up the heart chakra for giving and receiving love.

Matsyasana - Fish Pose

Fish Pose


Our Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) keeps our emotions balanced. It allows us to express ourselves and communicate authentically with others. The Fish Pose stretches the throat so we can get in touch with our authentic voice.

Ardha Pincha Mayurasana - Dolphin Pose

Dolphin Pose

The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) located at the brow point is known as our “all-seeing eyes.” It gives us access to our intuition and is important for self-reflection. The Dolphin Pose directs the energy flow to the head which activates the third eye, leading to more clarity.

Shavasana - Corpse Pose

 Corpse Pose

Meditation is the best exercise for the Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) which connects us to the universal consciousness. It is the highest chakra that is in touch with our inner divinity. The Corpse Pose invites total relaxation and surrendering - a good starting point for meditation.

Chakras directly affect our mental, emotional, and physical wellbeing. When our chakras are in balance, we experience the benefits of a clearer state of mind, stability, and a stronger defense against negative energy.

By practicing yoga, we can check in with our chakra regularly and maintain a steady energy flow throughout the body which leads us to a more positive and peaceful life.

You May Like

10-10 2023 Portal Opens
Autumn Equinox – Where Day Meets Night – And Manifestations Begin To Bloom
Discover Labor Day Savings On Spiritual Jewelry - Elevate Your Style and Spirit

Share Your Thoughts

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

0 / 600